The DePauw Investment Group began in 1963 as the Herman Crown Investment Fund with a gift from the Crown Family. This gift grew over time through active and passive investing, and reached $140,000 in 2016. The group went through a restructuring process in 2017 and began actively investing in the US Stock Market. The group received a $1 million commitment of the DePauw Endowment from the DePauw Board of Trustees in late 2018, and began actively investing this capital in Q2 2019. This brings our total investment value to approximately $1.2 million.


Read more about the $1m allocation from DePauw's Endowment here.


The primary objective of the organization is capital appreciation. The second objective is to apply DePauw’s strengths of critical thinking and collaboration to the portfolio management and construction process. We meet on a weekly basis to discuss current positions and to pitch new investments/reallocations. Additionally, we provide learning opportunities related to investing, the markets, and technical skills needed to successfully pursue a career in asset management and related fields. As a result, the portfolio management process provides tangible learning opportunities through the investment and management of approximately $1.2 million amongst the Herman Crown Investment Fund and the DePauw University Endowment.


Identify companies exhibiting short-term and long-term growth potential that correlate to each sector’s unique outlook and current portfolio composition utilizing a top-down approach.

Meet The Team


Chief Investment Officers

Abby Hess

  • Class of 2020

  • Major in Economics, Minor in Sociology

Hank Neal

  • Class of 2020

  • Major in Economics

Betsy Beggs

  • Class of 2021

    Major in Economics, Minor in Computer Science

Vice Presidents

Jasmeet Kaur

  • Class of 2020

  • Major in Economics

Grayson Honnen

  • Class of 2020

  • Major in Economics

Portfolio Managers

Consumer Goods
Michael Wittenberg

Elizabeth Beggs

Douglas Kubek

Grayson Honnen

Consumer Services

Matthew Labus


Zack Dafoe


Jake Kunkel


Elliott Atkinson